“Words in Best Order”

Prose, as declared by Coleridge is , ‘words in best order’. And  these remarkable men and women have conquered the feat of producing the finest array of thoughts,realised in the written form.

  • To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything, and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly be broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact, you must give your heart to no one, not even to an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements; lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket- safe, dark, motionless, airless- it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. The alternative to tragedy, or at least to the risk of tragedy, is damnation. The only place outside of Heaven where you can be perfectly safe from all the dangers of love is Hell.”

C.S.Lewis

Wuthering Heights

Being Victorian, daughter of a Parison, belonging to a sickly family, all encountering early deaths: no adversary of life could deter Emile  Bronte from writing this novel which speaks of passion in epic proportions. With that said, you think of Heathcliff, and a tall , dark persona lingers over. You  recall Catherine and  a dissatisfied youth , starving herself of her innate passion, just barges  the foreground. And you just can’t but hush down your breath  when Heathcliff speaks these lines:


“Catherine Earnshaw, may you not rest as long as I am living! You said I killed you—haunt me, then! The murdered do haunt their murderers. I believe—I know that ghosts have wandered on earth. Be with me always—take any form—drive me mad! only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh God! it is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul!”

About Mrs. Nazir's Rhyme and Reason

Am I a bird for Maya Angelou? If yes, why do I and so many of you around me feel caged? why not free? Am I a free spirit, then?If yes, then why don't I locate my limits? Because I can see I have lost the way. The quest for enlightenment is taking me acknowledge just Him ..and this strife just becomes so rewarding and so assuringly peaceful when I see myself having adopted His favourite occupation- the one he designated to his prophets. What has obstructed this self -actualization so far?
Quote | This entry was posted in Best Prose:I court others in verse: but I love thee in prose. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Words in Best Order”

  1. sadia Abbas says:

    First of all, my heartiest congratulations to you.Its a wonderful web domain.As far as the memories go,I remember when I first met you at KU,I always knew there is something very special about you.I never shared it perhaps but I was always in awe of you and believed you are a person who can do almost anything in the world if you set your mind to it. I am postive that you bring out the best in your students and they are extremely lucky to have you as their teacher.Literature has always been a pssion for me and I too, love prose more.Here I would like to share my favourite lines from my most favourite book, “Anna Karenina.”These words and the story of Anna have haunted me forever.Here it goes,”Lord, forgive me all! she said,feeling it impossible to struggle…….And the light by which she had read the book filled with troubles,falsehoods,sorrow, and evil,flared up more brightly than ever before,lighted up for her all that had been in darkness,flickered,began to grow dim,and was quenched forever.”
    To me,this is a summary of the life of a woman who dares to love.As for poetry,I dont think I can pick a line from Shakespeare and leave the myriads of others since I love every bit of that man’s work.I will hopefully see a lot from you here.Best of luck in all your endeavours.

    • You have made me awe struck on the other hand , when I consider WHO is saying this. Instead, you have been the one creating ripples all along Sadia. And I know you are aware of it! These words from you will keep me energized and motivated for quite a long time.
      God bless you,

  2. Maaz H says:

    These Blog posts keep on getting better and better,
    Here a line that struck when i read a Classic noval some years ago, yet still its imprinted on my mind.
    “The instrument that you play on, Pollyanna, will be the great heart of the world; and to me that seems the most wonderful instrument of all–to learn. Under your touch, if you are skillful, it will respond with smiles or tears, as you will.”

    This Quote basically tells about writing, of what the author feels it to be – I found that I could, to some extent, relate it to myself.

    And here’s another, by Anita Desai – I read only one of her books, but I found that I could relate it with myself, my culture, my identity in so many ways, though this Quote has been used in some other context
    “The birds are the last free creatures on the Earth, Everything has been captured and tamed and enslaved – tigers behind the bars of the zoos, lions stared at by crowds in Safari Parks, men and women in houses like matchboxes working in factories that are like prisons. Only the birds are free and can fly off in space whenever they like”

Leave a Reply

