Students’ Writings: Epitaphs

Reflections:

What earlier appeared as gruesome task to my Grade 11 students, turned out to be quite enthralling. What they came up with was a foray into their creative imagination…for themselves that is.

Following are some of the epitaphs :

Ayesha Siraj

My love’s not health that melts with high tempertures.

My love’s not patient that cracks when anger it nurtures.

My love’s not hope that fuses from a mere branching of a path,

But my love is DEATH which melts us together after we part.

Marium Agha

Glittery skies and beautiful sunshines,

Come all together to praise the worthy.

All hail! The woman who lies here,

Came and conqurered the world with her vision.

Ahmed Shah

I am proud to die-

Loyal to the land in which I lie

The world is false, truth is sparse.

Be not so quick,as I,

To trust those who appear kind.

Amna Ahmad

I hope my lord is pleased with me.

My life was a beacon of light for humanity.

And even when I am dead and gone,

My name still keeps living on.

Ayesha Nasir

Here lies a girl who lived by words.

They woke up one morning

To find her observing-

A prolonged silence.

Kashif Jawaid

My dear friends as you pass by

As you are now, so once was I. As I am now, you soon must be.

I with all my dreams and hopes, am  buried.

Under the soil, now rest I  in peace.

Prepare yourselves for all shall endure!

Qurratulain Shahood:

Qurrat studied all her life.

She never ever touched a knife

She was a very busy wife

So her husband took her life.

She wanted a natural death.

But murder took her life instead

‘She didn’t give a damn to the tears I shed.

So, I killed her, her husband said.
 
About Words Infinitum- A Teacher's Haven

Am I a bird for Maya Angelou? If yes, why do I and so many of you around me feel caged? why not free? Am I a free spirit, then?If yes, then why don't I locate my limits? Because I can see I have lost the way. The quest for enlightenment is taking me acknowledge just Him ..and this strife just becomes so rewarding and so assuringly peaceful when I see myself having adopted His favourite occupation- the one he designated to his prophets. What is obstructing this self -actualization?
This entry was posted in For Teachers:The Art of Assisting Discovery, GCE O Level Literature in English and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

