The Wood Spurge by Dante Gabriel Rossetti

The Woodspurge

The wind flapped loose, the wind was still,

Shaken out dead from tree and hill:

I had walked on at the wind’s will,-

I sat now, for the wind was still.

Between my knees my forehead was,-

My lips, drawn in, said not Alas!

My hair was over in the grass,

My naked ears heard the day pass.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My eyes, wide open, had the run

Of some ten weeds to fix upon;

Among those few, out of the sun,

The woodspurge flowered, three cups in one.

From perfect grief there need not be

Wisdom or even memory:

One thing then learnt remains to me,-

The woodspurge has a cup of three.

About Words Infinitum- A Teacher's Haven

Am I a bird for Maya Angelou? If yes, why do I and so many of you around me feel caged? why not free? Am I a free spirit, then?If yes, then why don't I locate my limits? Because I can see I have lost the way. The quest for enlightenment is taking me acknowledge just Him ..and this strife just becomes so rewarding and so assuringly peaceful when I see myself having adopted His favourite occupation- the one he designated to his prophets. What is obstructing this self -actualization?
This entry was posted in Poetry Anthology for the year 2012-13. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

