The Books Alive Project: Forming Independent Perspectives on Texts

Generation’s School

Grades X and XI

English Language

Book Review in Pairs

This term , the book reviews will be a little different: you have to attempt the reading in pairs. Choose one title out of the recommended Reading List  (available on the Parents Portal: http://www.generations.gs/parents). Both the partners should read the book thoroughly and conceive the book as an idea to be presented through a powerpoint presentation. As a sample , take a look at the presentation on The Kite Runner.

About Words Infinitum- A Teacher's Haven

Am I a bird for Maya Angelou? If yes, why do I and so many of you around me feel caged? why not free? Am I a free spirit, then?If yes, then why don't I locate my limits? Because I can see I have lost the way. The quest for enlightenment is taking me acknowledge just Him ..and this strife just becomes so rewarding and so assuringly peaceful when I see myself having adopted His favourite occupation- the one he designated to his prophets. What is obstructing this self -actualization?
This entry was posted in For Teachers:The Art of Assisting Discovery, GCE O Level English Language and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Books Alive Project: Forming Independent Perspectives on Texts

  1. Confused says:

    Hey, Seems to be a great background research on Afghanistan and taliban, but there is little i can find about the book in it self, the main characters, Hasan and Amir and his father were ever lasting characters with their fierce loyalty, n failures as human beings, the whole idea of being good again. i dont see why after reading your book report i would want to read the book. i d rather just think its an attempt at writing about taliban. I dont know thats just my perspective, and it could be eclipsed all the same, so please tell me how are we supposed to write a book report that doesnt talk of its characters, n just the socio political situation.

    Please dont get offended… its just that im really confused here.

    • Dear Confused,

      In this technologically advanced era , when in all likelihood, high school students would like to plagiarize their reports based on the summaries available online, this research oriented report was the only possible resort. It was not an exercise designed to further recommend the book, rather it had to illustrate how the new perspectives are both researched and analysed. The report that you mentioned regarding Khaled Hussein’s novel,had been picked from an array of exercises available on the internet only and it served as a model on which my language students had to fashion their respective reviews. How far they manage to do that, could be ascertained by referring to another post on my blog.

      I am sorry if the review that you read didn’t help you much, but my students enjoyed using this new criteria for their assignments.

Leave a Reply

